AGBU Awards Scholarships

April 1, 2010

scholarshipscholarship 2On March 29, 2010, the Toronto Chapter of the Armenian General Benevolent Union held its annual scholarship awards reception at the Alex Manoogian Cultural Centre. This year’s recipients were Jivan Stepanian, Sareen Khatchadourian, Saro Khatchadourian, Michelle Deherian, Knar Deherian, Tamar Makdessian, Hasmik Minasyan, Cynthia Ourfalian, Jason Sarafian and Khatchadour Wanes.

Chapter Chairman Knar Basmadjian, Board Member Dr. Isa Basmajian, Executive Director Salpi DerGhazarian welcomed and congratulated the recipients on their achievements. They talked about AGBU worldwide humanitarian programs, Youth Programs and ongoing activities at the Toronto Chapter. The scholarship recipients, in turn, talked about their ongoing education and future plans.

The AGBU Education Department bases its decisions on the students’ academic achievements, the caliber of the institution at which they are enrolled, and their display of community service. We believe that their potential for success and contributions to the Armenian people and nation are of important value, and consider these as part of the selection criteria. We hope that our scholarship recipients will assist AGBU in accomplishing its mission in their own capacity. We express our heartiest congratulations to the awardees.

Providing educational support to Armenians has been an integral part of AGBU’s mission since its foundation in 1906. The AGBU has also been investing in the next generation of Armenians by providing scholarship assistance for higher education since the 1920s. The program helps promising young Armenians to receive higher education in competitive programs at leading universities. In return, many of them contribute to their communities through various programs, such as AGBU’s Young Professionals.
Today, the Armenian General Benevolent Union supports thousands of promising full-time students of Armenian descent from 38 countries and 5 continents. Its Scholarship Program is financed through Endowment Funds and generous donations from AGBU members around the world.
The next deadline for Scholarship applicants studying in Canada is May 31, 2010. For application forms and further details about procedures and deadlines please visit under Education.